DUI Laws

Kentucky DUI Laws – 1st Offense

First offense results in a driver’s license suspension from 30-120 days, fines from $200-$500, and a jail term from 2-30 days.  For an aggravated DUI, minimum jail time is 4 days.  Court will order 90-day substance abuse evaluation and treatment program as well as 48 hours to 30 days of community labor.

Kentucky DUI Laws – 2nd Offense

Second offense results in a driver’s license suspension from 12-18 months, fines from $350-$500, and a jail term from 7 days to 6 months.  For an aggravated DUI, minimum jail time is 14 days.  Court will order 1 year substance abuse evaluation and treatment program as well as 10 days to 6 months of community labor.

Kentucky DUI Laws – 3rd Offense

Third offense results in a driver’s license suspension from 24-36 months, fines from $500-$1,000, and a jail term from 30 days to 12 months.  For an aggravated DUI, minimum jail time is 60 days.  Court will order 1 year substance abuse evaluation and treatment program as well as 10 days to 12 months of community labor.

Kentucky DUI Laws – 4th Offense

Fourth offense is considered a felony and results in a driver’s license suspension of 60 months, fines from $500-$1,000, and a jail term of a minimum 120 days.  For an aggravated DUI, minimum jail time is 240 days.  Court will order 1 year substance abuse evaluation and treatment program as well as 10 days to 12 months of community labor.

Kentucky DUI Laws – Implied Consent Laws

Anyone driving a vehicle in Kentucky has given implied consent to submit to a BAC test.

 

Kentucky DUI Laws – “Per se” BAC Level

The per se BAC level in Kentucky is .08% meaning anyone driving a vehicle with a BAC of .o8% or over can be charged with dui regardless of driving performance.

 

Kentucky DUI Laws – “Zero Tolerance” BAC Level

The zero tolerance BAC level in Kentucky is .o2%.  Anyone under the age of 21 driving with a BAC of .02% or greater can be charged with DUI.

 

Kentucky DUI Laws – “Enhanced Penalty” BAC Level

Kentucky enforces Enhanced Penalties for a BAC .18% or above under the criteria of Aggravated DUI, which also includes driving 30 mph over the limit, driving the wrong way on a highway, causing an accident that results in injury or death, refusing a DUI test or having a passenger in the vehicle under 12 years of age.  Aggravated DUI conviction results in an increased minimum jail sentence.

Complete the Form below to receive your no-obligation, free evaluation with a local DUI Attorney.