Mississippi DUI Laws – 1st Offense
First offense results in a driver’s license suspension for up to 90 days, fines from $250- $1,000, and a jail term of up to 48 hours. A limited hardship license is available after 30 days. Court may order Alcohol Safety Education program and/or Victim Impact Panel attendance.
Mississippi DUI Laws – 2nd Offense
Second offense within 5 years of first results in a driver’s license suspension of 2 years, fines from $600- $1,500, 10 days to 1 year community service, and a jail term from 5 days to 1 year. Court may order Alcohol Safety Education program, Victim Impact Panel attendance, Ignition Interlock device for 6 months after license reinstatement and/or Impoundment of registered vehicles.
Mississippi DUI Laws – 3rd Offense
Third offense is considered a felony and results in a driver’s license suspension of 5 years, fines from $2,000- $5,000, a jail term from 1-5 years, Alcohol and drug abuse program and vehicle seizure. Court may order Victim Impact Panel attendance, Ignition Interlock device, Vehicle forfeiture, alcohol safety education program and/or Impoundment of all registered vehicles.
Mississippi DUI Laws – Implied Consent Laws
Anyone driving a vehicle in Mississippi has given implied consent to submit to a BAC test. Refusal results in a mandatory 90 day license suspension. Second refusal results in a 1 year suspension.
Mississippi DUI Laws – “Per se” BAC Level
The per se BAC level in Mississippi is .08% meaning anyone driving a vehicle with a BAC of .o8% or over can be charged with dui regardless of driving performance.
Mississippi DUI Laws – “Zero Tolerance” BAC Level
The zero tolerance BAC level in Mississippi is .o2%. Anyone under the age of 21 driving with a BAC of .02% or greater can be charged with DUI.
Mississippi DUI Laws – “Enhanced Penalty” BAC Level
There are no enhanced penalties in Mississippi.