Nevada DUI Laws – 1st Offense
First offense results in a driver’s license suspension for 90 days, fines from $400-$1000, and a jail term from 2 days to 6 months. Chemical Dependency Education course may be ordered. Restricted license possible after 45 days with Ignition Interlock device installation at offender’s expense. Community service up to 96 hours may be ordered instead of jail time. DUI school will be ordered at a cost of $150.
Nevada DUI Laws – 2nd Offense
Second offense within 7 years of first results in a driver’s license suspension of 1 year, fines from $750-$1,000, a jail term from 10 days to 6 months, and 100-200 hours of community service. Vehicle registration may be suspended and a 1 year supervised DUI treatment program may be ordered by the court.
Nevada DUI Laws – 3rd Offense
Third and subsequent offense within 7 years of previous results in a driver’s license suspension for 3 years, fines from $2,000-$5,000, and a jail term from 1 to 6 years. Vehicle registration may be suspended and a 3 year supervised DUI treatment program may be ordered by the court. A restricted license may be available after 1 year with installation of Ignition Interlock Device.
Nevada DUI Laws – Implied Consent Laws
Anyone driving a vehicle in Nevada has given implied consent to submit to a BAC test. Refusal results in a mandatory 6 month to 1 year license suspension and is admissible in court.
Nevada DUI Laws – “Per se” BAC Level
The per se BAC level in Nevada is .08% meaning anyone driving a vehicle with a BAC of .o8% or over can be charged with dui regardless of driving performance. Drivers may be charged with DUI with a BAC under .o8% if sufficient evidence exists to suggest significant impairment.
Nevada DUI Laws – “Zero Tolerance” BAC Level
The zero tolerance BAC level in Nevada is .o2%. Anyone under the age of 21 driving with a BAC of .02% or greater can be charged with DUI.
Nevada DUI Laws – “Enhanced Penalty” BAC Level
There are enhanced penalties in Nevada for driving with a passenger under the age of 16 in the vehicle at time of arrest.