DUI Laws

Pennsylvania DUI Laws – 1st Offense

First offense for BAC .08%-.099% results in 6 months probation and a fine of $300.

For BAC .10%-.159%, license suspension for 1 year (limited occupational license available after 60 days with Ignition Interlock device), fines from $500-$5,000 and jail from 2 days to 6 months.

For BAC .16% or greater, license suspension for 1 year (limited occupational license available after 60 days with Ignition Interlock device), fines from $1,000-$5,000, jail term from 3 days to 6 months, and Alcohol Highway Safety School.

Pennsylvania DUI Laws – 2nd Offense

Second offense for BAC .08%-.099% results in a 1 year license suspension, fines from $300-$2,500 and a jail term from 5 days to 6 months.

For BAC .10%-.159%, license suspension for 1 year, fines from $750-$5,000 and jail from 30 days to 6 months.

For BAC .16% or greater, license suspension for 18 months, fine of $1,500 minimum, jail term from 90 days to 5 years, and Alcohol Highway Safety School.  An Ignition Interlock device will be required upon license reinstatement.

Pennsylvania DUI Laws – 3rd Offense

Third offense for BAC .08%-.099% results in a 1 year license suspension, fines from $500-$5,000 and a jail term from 10 days to 2 years.

For BAC .10%-.159%, license suspension for 18 months, fines from $1,500-$10,000 and jail from 90 days to 5 years.

For BAC .16% or greater, license suspension for 18 months, fine of $2,500, and a jail term from 1 to 5 years.  An Ignition Interlock device will be required upon license reinstatement.

Pennsylvania DUI Laws – Implied Consent Laws

Anyone driving a vehicle in Pennsylvania has given implied consent to submit to a BAC test.  Refusal results in an automatic 1 year license suspension, and may be used in court against you.  You can still be charged with DUI is sufficient evidence of impairment exists, and license suspensions will be server consecutively.

 

Pennsylvania DUI Laws – “Per se” BAC Level

The per se BAC level in Pennsylvania is .08% meaning anyone driving a vehicle with a BAC of .o8% or over can be charged with dui regardless of driving performance.

 

Pennsylvania DUI Laws – “Zero Tolerance” BAC Level

The zero tolerance BAC level in Pennsylvania is .o2%.  Anyone under the age of 21 driving with a BAC of .02% or greater can be charged with DUI.

 

Pennsylvania DUI Laws – “Enhanced Penalty” BAC Level

There are enhanced penalties in Pennsylvania that determine the penalty level for each offense.

 

Complete the Form below to receive your no-obligation, free evaluation with a local DUI Attorney.